The second lecture in the Hancock County Museum’s Summer Lecture Series will be at the museum at 2:00 on Sunday 7-25 21.
Tom Zielinsky, renowned local author, will discuss the two towns, north and south, of New Cumberland: Rockyside and Zalia.
Rockyside, a small mining community, was established around 1870 with the building of all the brickyards north of New Cumberland. There were nearly 300 men, women and children on that hillside, in addition to a one-room school and the first local Catholic Church, built in 1904. The hillside was abandoned around 1950.
Zalia, a small mining community, was established around 1830, some 40 years earlier than Rockyside, also with the building of all the brickyards south of New Cumberland. This is where local brick making began. There were nearly 300 men, women and children along this stretch of road, the old West Virginia Route 2. It also had a one-room school and the establishment and building of the First Methodist Protestant Church known as the Union Chapel of Freeman’s Landing.
This area was abandoned around 1970 and was home to a lot of unique businesses.
Everyone can learn a little about the history of these two towns and what they had in common and what their differences were. You will learn about some unique businesses like the Chelsea China Company, New Cumberland Glass Company, and the Cutler Steel Company. Hancock County is very rich in history that needs to be learned and shared.
Everyone is welcome to share their stories about these two small towns and to ask questions after Tom’s talk.
As always, the lecture is free and open to the public, although donations are always greatly appreciated. Refreshments will be served after the lecture.